07.11.2015 12:30 h

Melbourne Victory win FFA Cup final

Melbourne Victory added more silverware to their trophy cabinet with a 2-0 win over Perth Glory in Australia's FFA Cup final in Melbourne on Saturday.

The Victory became the first side to concurrently hold all three domestic titles, having won a third A-League premiership-championship double in the previous 2014-15 season.

Melbourne were well deserving of their two-goal half-time lead, following a strong opening 45 minutes.

Victory went ahead in the 35th minute when midfielder Oliver Bozanic lashed home after a good build up down the right from Jason Geria and Kosta Barbarouses.

Melbourne doubled their advantage seven minutes later with skipper Carl Valeri's through-ball found star striker Besart Berisha, whose first touch took him past the final defender.

The Albanian goal poacher then fired a brilliant strike across Glory keeper Ante Covic and inside the left post.

Glory looked dangerous at times on the counter-attack and had most of the play in the second half but could not finish off their chances.

Victory played the last eight minutes with 10 men after Valeri was sent off for a second bookable offence after a scything tackle on Dino Djulbic.

Valeri was also sent off in the A-League grand final against Sydney FC earlier this year.

Barbarouses was awarded the Mark Viduka Medal as the player of the match.

The defeat meant Glory are still to win any silverware in the A-League era, having lost last year's inaugural FFA Cup final to Adelaide United and the 2011-12 A-League grand final to Brisbane Roar.