09.03.2016 02:56 h

Australia recall trio for World Cup qualifiers

The experienced trio of Robbie Kruse, Matthew Spiranovic and Mitch Langerak were Wednesday recalled to the Australian squad for crucial World Cup qualifiers this month.

Coach Ange Postecoglo also drafted in three fresh faces for the games gainst Tajikistan in Adelaide on March 24 and Jordan in Sydney five days later.

"It's great to be able to bring experienced players like Robbie Kruse, Mitch Langerak and Matthew Spiranovic back into the squad after missing recent matches," said Postecoglou.

"But it is equally exciting to see how a fresh crop of young players can fit into how we train and what we are trying to achieve."

Apostolos Giannou, Jason Geria and Alex Gersbach are the three uncapped players which the coach said would keep everyone "on their toes".

"Getting that balance between winning football matches and giving players an opportunity is something we have been doing for two years," he added.

"During that time we have had success and haven't been let down by any of the young players."

The Socceroos go into the final two matches of the second-round qualifying group phase on top of Group B, two points clear of Jordan and four ahead of Kyrgyzstan.

They will progress to the next round if they finish top or as one of the best four second-placed teams from the eight Asian groups.

Australia squad: Terry Antonis (Paok/GRE), Nathan Burns (FC Tokyo/JPN), Tim Cahill (Hangzhou Greentown/CHN), Adam Federici (Bournemouth/ENG), Jason Geria (Melbourne Victory/AUS), Alex Gersbach (Rosenborg/NOR), Apostolos Giannou (Guangzhou R&F/CHN), Chris Ikonomidis (US Salernitana/ITA), Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace/ENG), Robbie Kruse (Bayer Leverkusen/GER), Mitchell Langerak (Vfb Stuttgart/GER), Mathew Leckie (FC Ingolstadt/GER), Massimo Luongo (Queens Park Rangers/ENG), Ryan McGowan (Henan Jianye/CHN), Mark Milligan (Baniyas/UAE), Aaron Mooy (Melbourne City/AUS), Josh Risdon (Perth Glory/AUS), Tom Rogic (Celtic/SCO), Mat Ryan (Valencia/ESP), Trent Sainsbury (Jiangsu Suning/CHN), Brad Smith (Liverpool/ENG), Matthew Spiranovic (Hangzhou Greentown/CHN), Bailey Wright (Preston North End/ENG)