16.05.2016 20:54 h

Sanchez, Vidal head strong Chile Copa squad

Alexis Sanchez and Arturo Vidal were named in a strong 23-man Chile squad on Monday for next month's Copa America Centenario.

Chile boss Juan Antonio Pizzi will rely heavily on the core of the side which lifted last year's Copa America when the South American showpiece kicks off in the United States on June 3.

Arsenal star Sanchez and Bayern Munich midfielder Vidal will join other veterans of the successful 2015 campaign including Claudio Bravo, Gary Medel and Charles Aranguiz.

However there was no place for talented playmaker Jorge Valdivia, a key member of last year's winning Copa team.

Valdivia, 32, signed a lucrative deal with United Arab Emirates club Al Wahda last year, leaving Brazilian giants Palmeiras after five seasons.

Pizzi appeared to suggest Valdivia's choice of club had contributed to his omission.

"We evaluated a lot of factors in deciding who to pick or not to pick," Pizzi was quoted as saying in Chilean media.

"Within those evaluations are the standard of competition that they play in and the level that they are at."

Chile were drawn in Group D alongside Argentina, Bolivia and Panama, opening their campaign against the Argentinians on June 6 in Santa Clara -- a repeat of the 2015 Copa America final.


Goalkeepers: Claudio Bravo (Barcelona/ESP), Johnny Herrera (Universidad Chile/CHI), Cristopher Toselli (Universidad Catolica/CHI)

Defenders: Mauricio Isla (Marseille/FRA), Jose Pedro Fuenzalida (Universidad Catolica/CHI), Gonzalo Jara (Universidad Chile/CHI), Gary Medel (Inter Milan/ITA), Enzo Roco (Espanyol/ESP), Eugenio Mena (Sao Paulo/BRA), Jean Beausejour (Colo-Colo/CHI)

Midfielders: Marcelo Diaz (Celta Vigo/ESP), Francisco Silva (Chiapas/MEX), Erick Pulgar (Bologna/ITA), Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich/GER), Matias Fernandez (Fiorentina/ITA), Charles Aranguiz (Bayer Leverkusen/GER), Pedro Pablo Hernandez (Celta Vigo/ESP)

Forwards: Fabian Orellana (Celta Vigo/ESP), Edson Puch (Universidad de Quito/ECU), Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal/ENG), Mauricio Pinilla (Atalanta/ITA), Nicolas Castillo (Universidad Catolica/CHI), Eduardo Vargas (Hoffenheim/GER)