31.05.2016 17:59 h

Yarmolenko, Konoplyanka lead Ukraine squad for Euro 2016

Ukraine coach Mykhaylo Fomenko on Tuesday named his final 23-man squad for Euro 2016, which is led by Dynamo Kiev forward Andriy Yarmolenko and Sevilla's Europa League winner Yevgen Konoplyanka.

The 67-year-old coach cut his squad from a provisional list of 29 players after Ukraine beat Romania 4-3 in a friendly on Sunday.

The roster includes 19-year-old Oleksandr Zinchenko, who scored his first goal with the national team against Romania, breaking Andriy Shevchenko's record as the youngest goalscorer in Ukraine's history.

Zinchenko, who plays for Russian side Ufa, was picked as well as defender Bogdan Butko and striker Yevgen Seleznyov, who until recently were playing in the Russian league.

Butko and Seleznyov were initially omitted from the provisional roster, stirring debate about whether Ukraine's tense political relations with Moscow had influenced the selection.

Ties between Moscow and Kiev are in tatters over Crimea's annexation in March 2014 and the subsequent pro-Russian insurgency in eastern Ukraine.

Fomenko parted ways with Zorya Lugansk's Mykyta Kamenyuka and Ivan Petryak, midfielders Oleg Gusyev of Dynamo Kiev, Maksym Malyshev of Shakhtar Donetsk and Yevgen Shakhov of Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk.

Dynamo Kiev striker Artem Kravets, who is currently on loan at German club Stuttgart, was also cut.

Ukraine will be competing in their second European Championship in France from June 10 to July 10 in Group C alongside Germany, Poland and Northern Ireland.

Fomenko's squad will face Albania in a friendly on Friday, their last test before the tournament.


Goalkeepers: Andriy Pyatov (Shakhtar Donetsk), Denys Boyko (Besiktas/TUR), Mykyta Shevchenko (Zorya Lugansk)

Defenders: Vyacheslav Shevchuk, Yaroslav Rakitskyi, Oleksandr Kucher, Bogdan Butko (all Shakhtar Donetsk), Yevgen Khacheridi (Dynamo Kiev), Artem Fedetskyi (Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk)

Midfielders: Anatoliy Tymoshchuk (Kairat/KAZ), Taras Stepanenko, Viktor Kovalenko (both Shakhtar Donetsk), Ruslan Rotan (Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk), Yevgen Konoplyanka (Sevilla/SPA), Sergiy Rybalka, Denys Garmash, Sergiy Sydorchuk, Andriy Yarmolenko (all Dynamo Kiev), Oleksandr Karavayev (Zorya Lugansk), Oleksandr Zinchenko (Ufa/RUS)

Strikers: Roman Zozulya (Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk), Pylyp Budkivskyi (Zorya Lugansk), Yevgen Seleznyov (Shakhtar Donetsk)